Submission Blitz – Day 29

April 29, 2013 at 11:02 pm (writing) (, , , , , , )

A great day, because in addition to the fact that I now have finished submitting the three novels I had planned on sending out – getting that unpleasantness out of the way – I also received some pleasing correspondence regarding two of the stories I submitted during the blitz. I was a little disappointed that the venue I had in mind for today’s novel had closed to submissions indefinitely. It means the next time I do another blitz I’ll likely have to send out paper submissions for the novels, unless the bigger publishers change their policies about electronic submissions/queries. That or I’ll have to submit to larger small presses – what I consider mid-sized presses. Not exactly what I had in mind for the blitz, which is more of a “go big or go home” situation.

As for the good news, I received e-mails saying both “Sanae’s Garden” and “A Shovel and a Bag of Lime” have made it to the next round of review (in the latter’s case, the final round.) That’s not an acceptance for either yet, but far better than a rejection. I was especially surprised with the one I received for “A Shovel” because I was honestly expecting a rejection in that case. If it is accepted, it will be the best rate per word I’ve earned to date. I’m tickled pink. This may just be a truly beneficial experiment.

And while I had originally planned on running this for 30 days, I’ll now be extending it two days into May. Two of the venues I have stories for don’t open for submissions until May 1, so I had to hang on to them and wait for May.

It may have been a challenging month, but I think this blitz will prove to be worthwhile, no matter what the end results. More to come…

Leave a Reply

