Submission Blitz – Day 26

April 26, 2013 at 11:48 pm (horror, writing) (, , , , , , , , )

As I figured, I had “A Shovel and a Bag of Lime” finished this morning so I sent it out to my fourth podcast for the month. This was another venue I had sort of given up on, not because the rejection letter I had gotten from them was rude – it was actually quite polite – it was just super weird and that put me off (it was a major “hunh?” moment.) I don’t think they’ll take this flash fiction story. I don’t believe it’s outlandish enough for them. But I’m still going to give it a shot.

It is a strange little story, but I like how it turned out. Like most of my flash fiction, it focuses on a particular moment in time, with minimal description, back-story and explanation of events. This one was different from my others in that it was implied horror. There was a suggestion of something horrible in the works, the story seeded with hints at something malevolent beneath the surface, but there are no violent or gory events in the body of the story. If it works the way I meant for it to work, the clues will spur the reader’s imagination enough that what they anticipate will be happening will be worse than if I had described it.

The title was an idea from my husband, but I came up with the story. He formulated an idea for a story with that title as well, after I had one in mind, so I’m going to write his version this weekend (he shared – he likes me writing stories from his ideas.) I’m going to call this one “A Shovel and a Bag of Lime too”.

Tomorrow I start my novel submissions- wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

