Submission Blitz – Day 25

April 25, 2013 at 10:33 pm (writing) (, , , , , , , )

I did it – I worked up the nerve to send “The Lure” off to the podcast I had in mind. We’ll see if I get a scathing rejection letter questioning my intelligence this time. I’m hoping it was just a one-time thing, where I ran into the wrong person on the wrong day and it isn’t an ordinary occurrence. Only time will tell. If I do get back a second letter of that sort, I’m going to start to wonder what folks actually mean when they call themselves “professional”. I didn’t think “rude” was part of the definition. Then again, I’ve also run into some elitist people who said “professionalism can’t be learned,” as if there were more highly evolved and sophisticated people out there who were just born professional. Sorry, your DNA only qualifies you for “low-grade amateur schmuck” status … what kind of garbage is that? It’s like some people who have been earmarked as “professionals” think that this suddenly means they are better than everyone else – sheesh! My union officially categorizes me as a “professional” but I don’t agree with that kind of high-falootin’ attitude. I take people at face value and not based on their title (or their salary.) I couldn’t care less what echelon you are; what I care about is if you are a decent human being.

I received another receipt confirmation and I also worked on my flash fiction piece “A Shovel and a Bag of Lime,” today. I should be done by morning for tomorrow’s submission and this weekend (which includes Monday for me) will be reserved for the novels. That just leaves day 30, and I’m sure I can come up with one last story by then.

Eyes forward and headed for the end. I guess it wasn’t that difficult an objective after all.

Leave a Reply

