Submission Blitz – Day 22

April 23, 2013 at 12:05 am (horror, writing) (, , , , , )

My first blitz acceptance! After getting thumbs up from the small press editor, the associate editor for the anthology liked “The Paint-box” as well, and sent me an acceptance (yay!) I guess I can’t complain about a lack of rejections if it means I’m going to get acceptances. Even if only 20% of my submissions for the month end in acceptances that still means 6 new stories will be published as a result of these trials and tribulations. Not an unrealistic or unpleasant aspiration.

I managed to finish up “In too Deep” today – easy to manage because it was already 2/3 complete. I had started it for a very particular anthology and given it up when the slot I was aiming for was filled before I had even had the chance to finish it. I’m glad I did get back to it though. When I read through it I really was inspired to finish it, and today I submitted it to an appropriately themed anthology. I don’t know how it will fair, but I think it has a reasonable shot.

I think I’m going to go for some dark humour next and tackle my zombie-weasel story. It involves chickens so I have a possible anthology in mind for it – but we’ll see. I still have “Implements” available for submission if I don’t finish this latest one by tomorrow. I have no idea how long it will be, but I’m expecting shorter rather than longer.

3 Comments

  1. aprobertsstories said,

    Congrats on the acceptance.

  2. Tyla Smith said,

    That’s so great to hear that you got an acceptance! I may have to steal this idea and do a month of sending out work, every day, just to see what happens.

Leave a Reply

