Submission Blitz – Day 21

April 22, 2013 at 12:20 am (writing) (, , , , , , , )

I completed two flash pieces today (about 2,100 words total,) to give myself a breather tomorrow. I don’t want to be left scrambling over the next 9 days as I finish this month up. I submitted one of them, “Some Kind of Rabid,” to an online magazine today. If they accept the story it will also go into their year-end anthology as well.

Still no new rejections, so I’m going to have to rely on other things. I’m picking up another half-finished story to finish off, so this blitz is proving useful in more ways than one. It’s forcing me to clear out the things that have been sitting gathering dust on my shelf AND nudging me into tying up loose strings I’ve left hanging. After finally writing a conclusion to “On the Tip of her Tongue,” I’m inspired to do the same with two others I have that I left incomplete.

I did get a positive response from one small press editor today. They mentioned that they liked my story “The Paint-box” and that they were passing it along to the associate editor of the anthology. It’s always nice to get feedback of any kind. For me it fuels the fires that get me writing. That, and I thought that story was too mainstream-ish to place in a genre venue, and too genre to try place it mainstream. Apparently, that may not matter – fingers crossed.

I feel stretched this month, as challenged as I feel during NaNoWriMo, but I think this has been a great learning experience. I’ve discovered I can write things I’ve never tried before and I’ve connected with publishers who are new to me. And if I don’t get anymore rejections by month’s end, I’ll have 28 new submissions out there waiting for responses…quite an accomplishment for someone who struggles to average two or three submissions a month.

Leave a Reply

