Submission Blitz – Day 19

April 20, 2013 at 2:29 am (fantasy, writing) (, , , , )

Late in the day as it was, I did get out today’s submission, but it was the unlikely-to-find-a-home “The Paint-box” rather than “On the Tip of her Tongue.” I made good progress on it in the morning, and I’m sure I would have finished it if I had not strayed from my usual routine, but things were a little different today because of Barb’s memorial service. I stayed late at work and hung out with one of my co-workers, Sherry, prior to the service. There didn’t seem much point to heading home briefly only to have to turn around and drive back in again. So I kept her company while she shopped, we went for a burger (a super gourmet burger topped with bacon, monteray jack, guacamole, jalapenos, lettuce, tomatoes and fried onions), and when two other friends joined us, we headed out to the service together.

The service was nice, although sad. Terry, Barb’s fiancé, had a couple of slideshows running with photos of her. Terry mentioned she would have killed him for putting up those photos, but I know seeing those pictures made us all feel better. She may not have considered herself photogenic, but she was beautiful in every single one of those shots – and smiling in most of them. I especially liked the ones where she was wearing one of my face-paintings. She insisted I paint her one every year at the Christmas party. I never would have imagined this year’s face-painting would be the last, but that just goes to show you should never take anything for granted.

Seriously – I mean that. Barb never took anything for granted and that’s one of the reasons why so many people loved her. There were a lot of people at that service tonight, and not one of the people there considered Barb “just an acquaintance.” She had a hard life, but she never used that as an excuse for being bitter or inconsiderate. She managed to make everyone she got to know feel special. There’s not enough of those kinds of people in the world. There ought to be more; the world would be a much better place for it. Sadly, the ones we do have don’t seem to last nearly as long as the selfish, inconsiderate schmucks who don’t give a damn about anyone else.

Barb really liked “The Paint-box” but I may never find it a proper home. It is only borderline fantasy, with a bit of a dark flavour, but just speculative enough that I don’t think it could pass for mainstream. We’ll see how it fares with this submission. You never know just what will grab ’em.

Leave a Reply

