Submission Blitz – Day 16

April 17, 2013 at 1:28 am (writing) (, , , , , , )

I managed to finish “Battling the Shikome” today and sent it off to a pro-rate venue as planned. Once again, I’m expecting the big rubber “rejected” stamp, but that won’t stop me from trying. Maybe I’ll crack that pro-rate ceiling someday.

Part of me is surprised that I made it past the half-way point of this month and I’m still going with the blitz. I have almost nothing left unsubmitted at this point. My count tells me I have three things being saved for later submission dates, one barely speculative fiction Christmas story and a couple of reprints, along with three novels that are all set to be shopped. If I run out of my short fiction, they’ll have to go out.

I really was hoping to hear back on several older submissions by now, to fill in the gaps between now and month’s end. Otherwise, I’ll be trying to come up with a goodly selection of flash fiction or shorter short stories to get me through to the end of this blitz. It’s a welcome distraction at the moment, this focus on getting as much of my work out there as possible. The main thing bothering me is not being able to run the new stories past Barb to get her approval first (or notes on suggested changes.) I’m on my own when it comes to that now.

I have no idea what project I’ll be working on next, but if I don’t come up with something soon I’m going to make myself finish one of the two short stories I have that I started but never completed. I’ll let you know what I picked to do tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

