Submission Blitz – Day 15

April 15, 2013 at 11:42 pm (writing) (, , , , )

A rough day today – but that’s not going to stop me from meeting my submission objectives. I resorted to submitting a reprint today. “The Ghost in the Mirror”. This one will probably bite back though. It’s a pro-rate venue, as I mentioned I’ve never had any real luck with them, and in this case it’s a podcast submission. I’m extra wary about those. I tried submitting to a sister podcast of the one I submitted to today and the rejection letter I got back had to be the nastiest response I’ve ever received for a submission. I can take it if someone doesn’t like my story – not everyone will – but they didn’t just give me negative feedback on my writing; they got downright insulting in that letter, calling into question my intelligence.

The story may not have been to their tastes, but it wasn’t *that* bad. Some of my test readers still say it was their favourite to date of all my stories. We’ll see if the rejection letter that comes back from this venue tells me I’m stupid for submitting this one. If it does, I think I’m done with submitting to pro-rate podcasts. On the other hand, if these folks are reasonable when they turn my story down, perhaps I’ll conclude the other podcast was just one of those exceptionally bad experiences and let it go (although it still burns me that these venues that are supposed to be “professional” offer some of the most unprofessional responses.)

In the meantime, I’m working on “Battling the Shikome,” my next Japanese-themed tale. It has to stay under 3,500 words for the venue I’ve chosen, so I’m hoping I’ll have it done tomorrow. I’m enjoying it, but not to the same extent as “Sanae’s Garden”. I wish Barb could have read that one. I think she would have liked it.

More tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

