Submission Blitz – Day 14

April 14, 2013 at 11:10 pm (Links, writing) (, , , , , , )

Today proved to be a very difficult day, and not because of anything involving writing. This morning, I wrote my latest flash fiction piece, “In an Instant,” which was a story about a person trying to use science, time travel specifically, to respond to the death of someone she loved – someone who had died from cancer. I had just finished it when, in a horribly ironic turn of events, I got a call that one of my best friends, who had been battling pancreatic cancer, had taken a turn for the worst. Not long after that, she passed away.

I’m dedicating this posting to her, as I have all my books, because she was such an extraordinarily special person. She had this knack of finding the talent in people and drawing it right out of them. I called her my muse because she “demanded” I write for her, when I started off with one novel still in desperate need of more editing, a half finished sequel that had been abandoned for seven years, a handful of pathetic short stories and a boatload of unexplored ideas. Thanks to her – and I will always give her the credit for *everything* I ever write – I now have 20 completed novels, seven of which have been published, and 70 completed short stories, many of which have seen print.

I’m not sure where I’m going to find the same kind of motivation she gave me to write, but I know I’ll never stop writing, or give up on trying to get published, because that’s what she wanted me to do. I’m just going to have to imagine her spirit somewhere, threatening me with a giant cosmic pair of scissors. That won’t change the fact that it feels like someone has cut away a big chunk of my heart and my soul because she’s gone.

And I’m not the only one she worked her magic on. She also found an incredible talent for photography in her fiancé, Terry Crowell. She helped draw it out of him too, and I can tell you, his photographs are the best I’ve ever see.

So I’ve submitted “In an Instant” tonight to a podcast contest in her memory and I wish she could still be here to read it. The world will be a darker place without her.

Love you, Barb, and I’ll miss you always.

5 Comments

  1. Giora said,

    It’s amazing how many novels ect. she inspired you to write. Did she also read what you wrote and gave comments, suggestions how to make it better? Rest in peace, Barb.

    • chantellyb said,

      Yes, she gave me feedback regularly and if she suggested something to improve a story I knew it would change it for the better.

  2. Todd Brown said,

    I am so sorry about your loss. I know from our back and forths how huge she was in your life.

    • chantellyb said,

      I doubt I’ll ever meet anyone else quite as encouraging or supportive. It’s a soul-crushing blow, losing your #1 fan, but I’ll still be writing for her. She’ll always be here with me in spirit.

  3. cherylmoore said,

    I’m really sorry to hear about Barb, Chantal. All the best to you and her family and friends.

Leave a Reply

