Submission Blitz – Day 12

April 12, 2013 at 11:11 pm (writing) (, , , , , , , , )

Today I sent off a tweaked and prepped “Sanae’s Garden” and I was almost sad to see it go. It was one of those stories that just write themselves, as if by magic. You have no idea where it came from and it doesn’t resemble anything else you’ve written, but there it is. I also got two more confirmations of receipts. So far, out of twelve submissions, only one did not offer a return response right away. This has come as quite a surprise, because only about half of the small presses I regularly submit to bother sending receipt confirmations. It makes for a nice change.

I finished “Relief,” the humorous sci-fi flash fiction I plan on submitting for an anthology tomorrow and I’ve been tossing around a flash fiction time travel idea for tomorrow’s crafting. “Relief” is being submitted to the second volume in an anthology series that I originally wrote “Turbulence” for (which was rejected. My first submission may not have made the cut, but I’m not about to let that deter me from submitting to the current volume. I love a challenge, and if they reject it – oh well. There are lots of speculative flash fiction venues out there. I have an odd sense of humour – I like dark humour and bathroom jokes – but someone may see merit in it.

I’m thinking about switching my focus to editing next month. I have a lot of first drafts and first edits needing extra work that have gone neglected…but we’ll see where things take me.

Leave a Reply

