Submission Blitz – Day 11

April 11, 2013 at 11:21 pm (writing) (, , , , , , , , )

Today I sent off “Velveteen,” submitting it for an anthology. I figure this one will be a difficult one to place. Not only is it on the weird side, with a dose of dark humour, it is also seriously risqué. I’ll only be able to submit it to venues that say they are very open to things new and strange, with no reservations regarding mature content. Some might even find the story offensive.

No further word back on any of the other submissions out there. I did finish “Sanae’s Garden” today; it came in at just a smidgen over 5,000 words. I’m going to miss that story. I really liked Sanae and Haruo. It had me teary-eyed as I was leaving the bus. It’s not quite ready to go out yet – it still needs a bit of fact checking and a few tweaks – but I will be submitting it tomorrow. I then have to come up with some flash fiction ideas for the weekend, something under 1,000 words involving time travel and something comical involving aliens (or at least UFOs). Then I start my second Japanese-themed short that has to come in under 3500 words.

I figure I’m doing well. I have enough submission material to last me a few more days even if I didn’t write anything more for the month. Maybe I’ll plan on doing this once a year every year when things are amassing dust on the shelf and my submissions are lagging. It certainly has proven to be great motivation when I was feeling uninspired.

-Back to prepping “Sanae’s Garden” for tomorrow’s send-off. J

2 Comments

  1. weifarer said,

    Hi Chantal, I’ve been wanting to stop by and say how impressed I’ve been with the number of stories you’ve been writing (I’ve been fighting with one for 2 weeks!) and how many you’ve submitted this month. You told me once where you find all those anthologies…I’ll have to go find that! But the most awesome thing is I know you were having a bad early spring and you challenged yourself to do this! Look at everything you’ve done and it isn’t even mid-April. You rock!

    I hope your spring has gotten better. You certainly inspire me to suck it up and get back to work writing. 🙂

    • Chantal Boudreau said,

      Lol – thanks. I’m actually not being as prolific as I normally am, at the moment. I have far too many things on my mind right now. I find when things have me down, rather than wallow in my misery, I’m best off finding some focal point, setting a goal from it and throwing myself into trying to achieve it. It redirects negative energy to a positive effort and keeps my thoughts away from the things bothering me.

      Glad to hear you are drawing inspiration from my efforts 🙂

Leave a Reply

