Submission Blitz – Day 7

April 8, 2013 at 12:31 am (horror, writing) (, , , , , , , )

I wrote “Flash!” in one sitting (1,369 words,) did a quick read through and sent it out the door – well, shipped it off via e-mail actually. The anthology I had been eying is only looking for pieces 500 words or less, so I had to find another venue for submitting “Flash!”, and came up with a quarterly magazine that looks for stories between 1,000 and 4,000 words. Keeping my stories under 1,500 or 2,000 words is a huge challenge for me, and while I have produced the occasional piece of drabble (100 words or less), I find it extremely difficult to limit myself like that. I doubt “The Maw,” which I will take a stab at tomorrow, will end up under 500 words. I guess I’ll just have to wait and see.

I had a lot of fun writing this, even though it wasn’t my story idea. The hubby comes up with some good ones, but he says he just can’t manage to turn them into a great story, so he passes them along to me. I always give them my own flavour – I set this one in a basement based in part on my own grand-mother’s basement. This is the third story idea he’s given me that I’ve turned into a short story (one of them, a zombie story, has been published and another I’ll be submitting to a contest.) He also often helps me to flush out my story ideas when I run into problems and I can always count on him to catch plot inconsistencies, anachronisms or inaccuracies. I’ve come to depend on his niggling.

I’m still hoping someone will send a challenge my way or I’m once again going to be forced to pick something at random when I’m done “The Maw”. Any takers?

Leave a Reply

