Submission Blitz – Day 6

April 7, 2013 at 2:46 am (horror, writing) (, , , , , )

It’s done – “Stitches in Time” has been tweaked and submitted for the Witch, Stitch and Bitch anthology. It came in at just over 3,500 words. I now have two horror flash fiction pieces on my roster. One is “The Maw”, one I’ve had somewhere on my to-do list for a long time. The other was suggested by my hubby, a nifty little story I’m going to call “Flash” (he gave me permission to use his idea.) That should cover me for the next couple of days, but I still have a few more short stories sitting on the shelf, and if I run out of those I have three novels that came back from the Harper Voyager lottery with their “rejected” stamp. I’m also expecting to hear back soon on a few older submissions, so any rejections will provide stories for resubmission.

As far as responses go after six submissions, I’ve had one rejection and two receipt confirmations. I appreciate the receipt confirmations, because you can be sure your submission was received. You never know when a smaller press’s e-mail might decide to filter your submission as junk. The submission I sent today was through an online submission form, so I’m fairly certain it will be received properly.

On to writing my flash fiction so I can meet my goal for the month.

1 Comment

  1. Julien Haller said,

    You have more courage than I. I sent submissions one time and the anxiety wracked me far too greatly. So when I put together a short story collection a couple months ago, I just bypassed the conventional means of publishing (not like there’s a market for literary short story collections nowadays, anyway), and published on Kindle.

    Anywho, I wish you the best of luck!

    Sincerely,
    Julien Haller

Leave a Reply

