Submission Blitz – Day 5

April 6, 2013 at 2:53 am (horror, writing) (, , , , , )

I did finish “Stitches in Time” but it still needs tweaking, so I won’t be submitting it until tomorrow. Instead I submitted a zombie short story, “Dead to Write” to Source Point Press for an anthology. There were scant details in the submission request so I’m hoping it comes together properly. This poor story sat with a publisher for a year – one who had actually asked me to submit it for a charity anthology. There was no follow through on the anthology and I eventually chose to retract my submission.

Sometimes things work that way. I look at my list of submissions awaiting decision and some are closing in on nine months without a response. That’s disappointing for a publisher with a reputation for being professional. I give them a year, though, before sending a retraction of my submission. I know of established authors who won’t wait longer than 6 months on a short story submission. Since I don’t have a recognizable name, I give them more leeway.

Anyway – I’m off to work on those tweaks – more tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

