Busy Week…

March 9, 2013 at 12:28 am (fantasy, horror, The Snowy Barrens trilogy, writing) (, , , , , , , , )

Happy International Women’s Day!

I’ve been guilty of neglecting my blog, caught up in a multitude of book associated tasks and trying to give my family some of my attention too. I hope to spend much more time with them over the coming March Break if my back agrees. My thirty-six-year-old injury has been playing up lately, reminding me I need to be more active in a low impact way and to cut back on the sweets and starchy foods. Winter tends to make me less inclined to do either of those things, and a desk day job and an obsession with becoming an established writer doesn’t help.

So what have I been up to? Not the things I had been planning for the month.

Instead of the research I was planning to do, I’ve been reading Deep Cuts, a horror anthology with a smidgen of its content attributable to me (none of the stories, however.) I won’t say anything more about it because I plan on reviewing it on Monday.

I’ve also been distracted by a debate/discussion amongst Horror Writers Association about the new Hydra e-book imprint from Random House and its controversial contract offering for writers. After having reviewed what people had to say about it, I wouldn’t sign it – just sayin’.

Instead of working on my latest novel WIP, Sifting the Ashes, I took a break to write a short story “Velveteen.” I have only a week left to the submission deadline so I’ve been rushing to get it done and test-read. I then had to rewrite the ending, but I’d like to have it tweaked, polished, prepped and submitted this weekend. I’m hoping it’ll have a shot (albeit a miniscule one) at making it into the Glitter & Mayhem anthology. At least I had fun writing it and it was worth the try.

On the release front, I *finally* received my print proof for the second book in my Snowy Barrens trilogy and now the print version of The Blood Runs Deep is finally live (I’ll be adding a link button to my page.) I also reduced the prices of both my ebook and print versions of book #1, to celebrate its release (yay!) This means I now have to start working on the cover art for the last book in the trilogy, and planning the formatting and final edits. As well, I had news that the Midnight Movie Creature Feature II anthology will likely make an appearance this month (it will contain my story “Wrigglers” – I’ve been waiting for this one for a while.)

I wish I could say I’ll be more diligent about my blogging next week, but the majority of the week will be reserved for family time. I’ll try to at least post on Monday/Wednesday /Friday, more if things run smoothly with regards to the family outings.

Anyway – back to my busy week J

1 Comment

  1. Barbara said,

    That’s the spirit, glad to see you back in the groove. Enjoy your family time and don’t forget to get some “you” time too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

