Inspiration and Motivation

March 4, 2013 at 2:14 am (fantasy, horror, writing) (, , , , , , , )

I received an e-mail today with a thank you and a free copy of an e-book in which I had participated in a very small way. The anthology, Deep Cuts, is a tribute to female horror writers and I contributed a short blurb about how my favourite female horror writer, Tanith Lee, had inspired me, along with a recommendation of one of her short stories.

I’ve read a lot of horror in my day, despite being primarily a fantasy reader in my teens and as a younger adult. I’ve indulged in some of the well known horror writers like Stephen King, John Saul, Anne Rice, Peter Straub and Dean Koontz, but I think I drew more inspiration from some of the lesser known horror talent. I have a fine collection of horror anthologies and short story collections (Tanith Lee’s and Frederic Brown’s are the most worn from being re-read.) The influence was there before I started trying to write horror, it just took me a decade or two to realize my writer’s brain works the way it does.

The inspiration has always been there but the motivation has been harder to come by. I used to write when I didn’t have much going on while I was between jobs or semesters. I wrote to keep from going crazy on maternity leave. I wrote to try to make sense of things when I had two friends commit suicide within a year. But I also wrote, once my life got too busy to offer any sense of ennui, because I had a dear friend who has read everything I’ve ever written, given me constant feedback, both good and bad, and pushed me when I wasn’t up to pushing myself. Even my husband hasn’t managed to keep up with her (although he tries).

Now she’s facing challenges of her own, and it’s up to me to do what I can to inspire and motivate her. I can’t begin to understand what she’s going through. Offering her a similar amount of encouragement is going to require tamping down my typically pessimistic nature. I’m not sure how I’m going to do it, but I’m certainly going to try for her sake. It also means finding motivation for myself elsewhere because she won’t be available at times for various reasons. I haven’t figured that one out yet either.

And speaking of motivation, I have my winner for my contest to help me choose my next project. I did go with “Sifting the Ashes” and the winner is atalantatheargonaut – I’ll be e-mailing to find out your prize preference. Congrats J

1 Comment

  1. Barbara said,

    I cannot think of anyone who inspires me more than you do. You are an incredible writer and I am always amazed by your stories because they capivate my mind and lead me to destinations I would not otherwise be able to venture too. Your dear friend is so very lucky to have you in her life. Keep writing, don’t ever stop… because YOU are the true inspiration.

Leave a Reply

