It’s not all Bad News…

February 27, 2013 at 11:58 pm (horror, Links, writing) (, , , , , , )

For all the bad news February has brought with it, there have been a few good things that have come my way. The first is the fact that my husband has his armouring business “Alchemy Armory” up and running again. That should help ease financial stresses.

The second is the release of not one but three anthologies containing one of my stories. Out earlier this month, Zombie Lockdown from May December Publications contains my story “Life and Undeath on the Chain Gang”. I actually did quite a bit of historical research for this zombie tale and learned a lot about chain gangs in the Old South, so I was pleased to see it find a home.

Just yesterday, Masked Mosaic: Canadian Super Stories from Tyche Books was made available, containing my flash super-hero tale “A Face in the Wind”. I also had to do historical research for this as well, and I can proudly say that this is my first contribution to a Canadian anthology (although I have another Canadian acceptance that should be out within the year.)

And today marked the release of Mistresses of the Macabre, an all female writer anthology from Dark Moon Books. I contributed one of my favourite creations, “Orbs” to this horror compilation and I’m grateful to be included amongst a very talented group of ladies.

This is my second appearance in a Dark Moon Books anthology, and I’m happy to say that Slices of Flesh, my first appearance, has been included on the final ballot for the 2012 Bram Stoker Awards (for Superior Achievement in Anthology).

So as you can see, things aren’t all bad, and here’s hoping they’ll only look up for the rest of the year. Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

