Apologies

February 26, 2013 at 10:41 pm (writing)

So I haven’t been feeling my usual self lately, and my blog has suffered for it. There will be no love or Hawthorne in this entry, I’ve skipped a few posts, and some may have noticed there was no review posting on Monday. The situation is personal, so you won’t be getting an explanation in detail. Let’s just say that there is a strong possibility of a negative outcome to a nasty situation, one that I’m not sure I’ll be able to cope with all that well. It has me very sad, at a moment when someone needs me to stay positive, and I’m terrible at managing those kinds of conflicting emotional pressures. I want to just crawl into a hole somewhere and make it all go away. At the best of times, I’m feeling kind of empty.

It probably doesn’t help that the WIP I’m working on is more than a little grim, and I haven’t reached the pivotal point in the book where things start looking up for my protagonist. I could use a hefty dose of hope right now, even if it happens to be the imaginary kind. I usually write dark stories because it helps me to shine a more positive light on my own life. I don’t think that’s going to work in this case.

What I do know is that if the person involved in this situation asks for anything, I’ll be dropping whatever I’m working on to try to fulfill their wishes. That means I won’t guarantee anything for the next little while. Marketing and promotions definitely are not at the top of my to-do list, this blog included. I may even set aside a WIP if necessary, not something I normally will do.

This is an unwelcome reminder that I need to be grateful for everyone in my life. I’m not always good at expressing it, but I do care about the people around me who make my life seem worth living. So I’m sorry if I neglect things a little and I wax a tad gloomy for a while. Please accept my apologies ahead of time.

-And go hug somebody for me, will you?

2 Comments

  1. cherylmoore said,

    Thinking of you, Chantal, and sending you a virtual hug, Cheryl.

  2. Barbara said,

    It doesn’t have to end in a negative light. With the right amount of love and support this story could have a very different outcome. Remember, it has only just begun and the ending has not yet been written. 🙂 Hugs to you my friend. (((Chantal)))

Leave a Reply

