Women in Horror Month

February 9, 2013 at 3:06 am (horror, Links, writing) (, , , , , , , )

I’m taking a break from love and Hawthorne to commemorate Women in Horror Month. I consider myself fortunate to not only be published in the genre, but to know so many wonderful women who also write horror. There are more of us than you might expect, just as chilling and terrifying as our male counterparts. I’ve been lucky enough to participate in three women only genre productions, one of which come out later this month, an anthology called Mistresses of the Macabre from Dark Moon Books. The editor has organized series of interviews with all eighteen of the talented and spooky contributors and you can check them out along with editor, Lori Michelle’s remarks at the Last Writes blog.

This wasn’t the first all female anthology in which I’ve participated. While Mistresses of Macabre offers a variety of horror tales, my first venture into an all female anthology was also an all zombie anthology, Hell Hath no Fury from May December Publications. I can thank this publication for some enduring friendships with sisters in spirit who share a love of the genre, such as Rebecca Snow and DA Chaney. It also contains some kick-ass zombie – I enjoyed the read.

My third all female romp has been competing in the annual Wicked Women Writer competition, hosted
by Horror Addicts. It has been a fantastic experience, my first with podcasting. Writing to an odd theme has proven challenging, and my results, “Rats” and “Thanksgiving Special” were certainly interesting. I’m actually looking forward to trying my luck again in 2013. I’m also hoping WWW will attract even more participants this year.

It’s nice to see a growing presence of women in horror and the chance to celebrate female contributions to the genre. If you have a favourite Woman in Horror, use this opportunity to let her know how much you enjoy her work.

6 Comments

  1. crysnia said,

    • chantellyb said,

      Oh – thank you! But I was already tagged and did the whole Liebster Award thing in January (a lot of work involved.)

      • crysnia said,

        No problem! I hadn’t realized that XD

  2. David Watson said,

    The Wicked Women Writers contest is starting up again on February 15th. I really enjoy your blog Chantal. .

    • chantellyb said,

      Glad to hear you enjoy it – I try 🙂

    • chantellyb said,

      I got my assignment and the story is already done for WWW – this is going to be a fun challenge 🙂

Leave a Reply

