The Liebster Award

January 27, 2013 at 8:50 pm (Links, writing) (, , , , )

I’ve been busy with formatting and editing, but I’m taking a few moments to catch up on other things. The Liebster Award was handed to me by my fellow Guild of Dreamer and fantastic author, Bruce Blake. Read on to find out what it’s all about.


The rules:

1. Thank the person who nominated you. Thanks, Bruce!

2. Post eleven random facts about yourself.

3. You answer the eleven questions asked by the person who nominated you.

4. You think of a new set of eleven questions and nominate eleven others to answer them.

—–

To start…eleven random facts about myself:

1. I was born on a Friday the 13th. Is it a coincidence that I was accident prone when I was young and I write horror as well as fantasy?

2. I am five foot eight tall but I would have been five ten were it not for the wedged vertebrae and compensating curve in my spine that cannot be corrected (the result of a car accident when I was five.)

3. My first real job was as an actress/singer/dancer the summer I turned sixteen. I was in a trio of wartime musicals called Salutes to Victory.

4. I broke my thumb playing softball in junior high.

5. I’m a huge fan of alternative rock. I love Linkin Park, 30 Seconds to Mars, Finger Eleven and many, many other similar bands.

6. I grew up in Nova Scotia, but I was born in Toronto. I always wonder how my life would have differed had we stayed in the big city.

7. I love to draw but I don’t have the patience to get *really* good at it. Then again, I’m a dabbler because I don’t have the patience to get *really* good at anything.

8. I am a dog person – we have a beagle named Sparky. We also have a cat, Charleston, who I tolerate.

9. I shaved my head once to raise money for cancer (and I donated my hair to “Locks of Love”).

10. I’m overeducated. I have a B.A, a B. Comm., an MBA and my CMA. I have used all of them in some way at some point, however.

11. My husband is a stay-at-home dad who will be starting up his costume armory again very soon.

—–

Bruce’s eleven questions:

1. Who is the most famous person you’ve ever met? Yikes, I don’t know how to answer this one. I met Pierre Elliot Trudeau briefly, when I was a little girl. I met a handful of athletes and actors because my dad was a sales manager at a local radio station and handled the PR events, including Gary Carter, Mr. Dress-up and a pile of soap stars. I also got to meet a selection of singers because my father was president of MIANS for a couple of years (like Denny Doherty from the Mamas and the Papas.) I’m not sure who would count as “the most famous.”

2. What article of clothing could you not do without? A comfy pair of blue jeans.

3. You have one meal left before you are put to death. What would you eat and what did you do to be condemned? Cheese garlic fingers with donair sauce and cheesecake and I probably snapped and took out some horrible child molester/killer or rapist/abuser who got off on a technicality.

4. If you were a computer program, which one would you be? The ‘You Don’t Know Jack” game.

5. What book have you read that you most wished you had written? Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Roald Dahl). I read it multiple times when I was a girl.

6. If you could only own one movie, which one would it be? Shawshank Redemption – I never get tired of that movie.

7. Sweet or savoury? Savoury.

8. Would you rather give a speech in front of a large audience or touch your tongue to frozen metal? The tongue thing.

9. If you had your choice, are you an early bird or a late riser? Early bird, but I’m also a night owl.

10. You have a new pet and it is entirely up to you to name the beast. What kind of animal is it and what do you call it? I’ve always wanted a dachshund and I’d name it “Weiner”.

11. If you could recommend one non-fiction book, which one would it be? The Second Tree: of Clones, Chimeras and Quests for Immortality by Elaine Dewar.

The eleven questions for my nominees:

1. What was your favourite childhood show?

2. If you could be a bird, what bird would you be and why?

3. What is the best dessert you’ve ever eaten?

4. If you could pick band line-up for your ultimate concert, who would you have open, follow and headline?

5. What would you say is your favourite book outside of your preferred genres?

6. If you had to sit through the goriest of horror movies of the sappiest of chick-flicks, which would you pick?

7. Kirk or Picard?

8. What is your favourite board game?

9. If you had your choice, quiet night at home or rowdy night out?

10. What are the top three colours in your wardrobe?

11. Have you ever read anything you were expecting to dislike but to your surprise you loved it?

—–

My nominees: (it’s all right to take your time, but please play along – I really am curious, so let me know when you post.)

Steve Vernon

Crystal Connor

Christina Westover

Ren Garcia

Rebecca Snow

Deborah Riley-Magnus

T.W. Brown

Tonia Brown

Suzanne Robb

Justine Hedman

Look forward to all your answers!

1 Comment

  1. twbrown said,

    Mine goes up Friday, February 1st.

Leave a Reply

