The Blurb on Other People’s Words – Tales for the Toilet

January 15, 2013 at 2:05 am (horror, Reviews, writing) (, , , , , , , )

Tales for the Toilet from Crowded Quarantine

Let me just state that this anthology is not for the faint of heart. While a few of the stories aren’t that extreme in the way of horror, several of them have major shock value and I’d have to say that some of them even went beyond my fairly broad comfort zone ( a couple of them were so disturbing to me I almost couldn’t finish them.) This is not the type of anthology you would leave in your bathroom as a johnny-reader unless the only people who visit your john are die-hard, thick-skinned horror fans.

That being said, I’d also have to say this has a little something in it for almost every type of horror fan – everything from bizarre and gore-ridden weird tales and standard zombie fare to sci-fi erotic horror. It’s one of the more eclectic horror anthologies out there.

Some of my favourites:

Crimson by Rich Hawkins – A great intro story which I really enjoyed despite a heavier that normal dose of gore. I liked the psychological element best.

Daisy by John Robinson – A solid zombie offering with strong characterization and heart-wrenching family-based plot. I particularly liked the ending.

Firewater by Brian Panowich – An eerie tale of retribution that reminded me of an old episode of “The Twilight Zone” or “Creep Show”.

While a few of the tales didn’t match my tastes and some left me scratching my head, I think this was a reasonably good anthology overall – just be prepared to steel yourself before you read it.

Leave a Reply

