Solutions not Resolutions – I Confess…

January 5, 2013 at 12:26 am (writing) (, , , , , , , )

I confess, I missed my blog posting last night because I got caught up in trying to cut down a short story for submission, one that exceeded their word length limit by 500 words. I would much rather expand on a story than have to cut it down – the latter is a tricky task because I try to be concise to begin with. I managed it, but it took three attempts to do it and I didn’t actually complete the submission or my post because it was bedtime by the time I was finished. I know – I’m supposed to be focussing less on the writing work, but I figure after I’ve put in a full day’s accounting , working on one submission doesn’t seem unreasonable.

This will be my fourth submission of the year (yes – 2013), with another planned this weekend. I’ve already received two acceptances and two rejections in the last four days. I can’t let the bad news get me down, especially when I see writer friends who’ve suffered through many more rejections in the same time, and they don’t let it discourage them. Sure, they get a little cranky or a couple of days, but they eventually get past it.

So I’m going to resubmit these stories as soon as I find somewhere new to send them. My one problem is I still seem to be hitting that glass ceiling. I’ve received many acceptances, but I’m still trying to claw my way to my first pro pay acceptance. I’ve had a couple of near misses, and I have a maybe hovering in limbo, but I’m starting to believe it wasn’t meant to be.

Anyway, on to the resubmissions and the rewrite I need to do, and tomorrow I set my sights on getting things organized around here.

Leave a Reply

