Solutions not Resolutions – It’s a Start

January 2, 2013 at 11:17 pm (writing) (, , , , , , , )

I haven’t made any grandiose promises for 2013. Actually, I’ve decided that instead of making resolutions I can’t keep, I’m going to look for potential ways of dealing with existing problems. For example, instead of going on a crazy diet or taking up some exercise I won’t be able to stand after a week, I’m just going to try to be a little more active and make better food choices – pretty straight forward and not overly ambitious.

This might make a couple of people cringe, but one of my solutions for the things that irk me will be writing less. There are other areas of my life that have been neglected because of my writing and those areas deserve more attention. I plan on finding ways to be better organized and looking into a few extra ways to earn money. Writing is not exactly lucrative when you don’t have much of a following, consider a semi-pro-rate sale a jackpot, and don’t even rate mid-lister status. I tend to give away almost as much as I earn, making this a hobby that pays for itself. Right now, I need something to supplement my income, not just suck up my time, so that will mean less time writing and more time spent trying to be entrepreneurial in other ways. Besides, I have fourteen unpublished novels at this point along with the six that have been released, so I don’t particularly need another paper paperweight to clutter up my shelves.

That doesn’t mean I’m going to give up trying. I did finish that short story on my to-do list. I did put in those submissions I wanted to make (I already have an acceptance for one of them) and I plan on making another submission very soon. And I will complete that requested rewrite I got back in the next couple of days, before embarking on the formatting I need for the next stage of my self-publishing experiment. I also have a couple of new promotional projects on the go. I’m not letting go of my ambitions, I’m just rolling them back a little so they don’t completely takeover my life.

And I’m still going to stick to doing my blog (except on holidays). It’s useful for getting ideas down and making concrete plans.

Here’s wishing you all a great 2013.

1 Comment

  1. Jae said,

    You’ve got to do what works with you, despite others’ opinions on the matter.

Leave a Reply

