Genre for the Holidays – Procrastination

December 30, 2012 at 1:13 am (writing) (, , , , , , , , , , )

I have to confess, I’ve been using the holidays and housecleaning as excuses to procrastinate, something I don’t normally do. The work involved in the few things I do have to do right now with regards to my writing doesn’t thrill me, so I’ve put all of them off. I figure if I’m going to do them, I better make a list and if I don’t make a note of getting work done on them over the next few days, you all have the right to chastise me, berate me, slap my wrists … I’d even say spank me, but the hubby would object to that one. Anyway, here are the things on my writing to-do list. Maybe if I have them written somewhere public, it will shame me into getting my tushy in gear.

1) Write a story for Ren Garcia’s anthology – why have I been putting this off? Nerves. I don’t typically write this type of speculative fiction and I’ll be writing to Ren’s world, fan-fiction of sorts. I know I can’t come anywhere near matching Ren quality-wise and I honestly don’t have a story idea at this point. I need a little push with this one.

2) Submissions – I have two short story submissions I’ve been putting off. It won’t take long, but it feels so much like work and I haven’t been enthusiastic about submissions lately. I don’t know why – I’ve had some success lately so you’d think I’d be gung-ho, but I’m not.

3) Rewrite – I have a story ending to rewrite at an editor’s request. I’m scared to even start, despite having a few ideas on how I could change it. I guess I’m just worried I won’t be able to improve it and I’m waiting for that “zen” moment when the words just flow like magic.

4) Formatting – I have to format The Blood Runs Deep so I can get this second book in my Snowy Barrens trilogy out there. I was using the lack of cover art as an excuse, but I’m almost done with my attempt. It is nowhere near as good as Dianne’s work on the first cover, but it is a really good piece for my efforts and I think it will be acceptable. I just need a good kick in the pants to get started.

So there you have it, in order of importance based on deadlines, simplicity and necessity. And I’ll get to them, eventually, once I conquer this severe case of procrastination.

2 Comments

  1. Christina Westover said,

    I’m with you on the procrastination, and will lay my must-do’s along with yours since they aren’t that far off.
    1) Write 3rd novel before end of January
    2)Complete short story for Ren Garcia’s Anthology before leaving to New Zealand
    3) Professionally record 1st song Jan. 27th and get it right.

    Sometimes, I find myself procrastinating when my mind is tired from too many details. 2012 was a difficult year for so many–myself included. I feel like I sometimes need down time just to emotionally recuperate.

    LOL, I won’t spank you…I’ll continue to have quiet faith in you…and to cheer you on from my corner of San Francisco!!!

    • chantellyb said,

      You’ll be writing a novel in a month? I’ve done it twice, but it’s a real challenge. I usually need 6-8 weeks. Kudos to you if you can pull it off.

      I’ve started my story for Ren now (tentatively called “Riot!”), but I don’t know if it will be anything like what he’s looking for and it certainly won’t match his styling. I tend to write gritty, grim stuff with little in the way of flourish or ornamentation. I think that’s one reason I was taking so long to get started. I had to find something in the pamplet he gave us I could relate to.

      As for the song recording – good luck! I’ve never tried anything like that and I admire your courage and talent.

Leave a Reply

