Genre for the Holidays – The End is Near

December 29, 2012 at 1:02 am (writing) (, , , , , , , , , , )

The end of 2012 approaches and it is a year I’ll be happy to see come to a close. I still am grateful for the things I care about most – healthy family, friends and a job that makes me happy, but the year was stressful, with money woes, a handful of disappointments, some health scares for my friends and their families and a sense I’ve sort of hit a plateau with my writing and any promotional attempts. I’ve got that “grinding halt, don’t know where to go from here” kind of feeling, which is leaving me uninspired and shrugging my shoulders in the face of a series of potential projects.

I honestly don’t deal well with that feeling. Whenever it seems like I’m spinning my tires and wasting energy on futile efforts I get very frustrated. I’ve achieved a lot in the last few years, but I honestly don’t know where to go from here to improve on things even more, especially in the face of limited resources. Maybe I just need a break in order to mull things over and regroup, or maybe I need to change direction. I’m not sure how to figure that out.

The one thing I do know is that I’m resilient. If there is a way past this plateau, I’ll eventually find it. The year 2013 holds promise, even if I’m unclear what that promise is, exactly.

I also refuse to lose my levity. Frustrated or not, I will maintain my sense of humour. There’s always something in life to laugh at if you look hard enough.

4 Comments

  1. Barbara said,

    Well said… glad you haven’t given in. You’re an amazing writer/storyteller and I for one, am truly grateful for having been a small part of your fan base. I appreciate all the hard work and the steadfast dedication you have shown in providing me with countless hours of enjoyable reading. My wish for you in 2013 is this… May your storytelling give you great satisfaction and may you to continue your writing style with the ease that can only come from you. 🙂

  2. chantellyb said,

    Thanks Barb – but I do need to scale back a little on the writing in 2013. Other things will be taking priority this upcoming year, so I can sort out some of the other issues in my life. I need to get better organized at home, I need to work on a few other non-writing things I’ve let slide and I need to work at finding ways to earn extra money until this furnace is paid off so we don’t deplete all of our savings.

  3. Christina Westover said,

    Plateau? 251 Blog posts, 20 stories–you’re handing out inspiration by the handfuls. Perhaps, you’re climbing so high it’s just time like you said to change directions. Think outside of the box, meditate for more inspiration. Amazing things are on the horizon, and I am excited to see what 2013 holds for us all. Happy Early New Year, Chantal: ) Though, I know what you mean about limited resources–I work part-time and receive disability payments because of my disorders which are extreme, and art supplies get costly. I just know if I keep creating, it will pay off sooner than later…

  4. chantellyb said,

    Lol – believe it or not, I’m slowing down, and I’m worried my plots are getting same-y. I’ve seen that in other writers and I don’t want that happening to me. I think I need a chance to let things brew for a while – maybe give myself a few months to focus on other things I’ve been neglecting and stick to a short or two and editing/formatting. I was losing enthusiam by the end of The Trading of Skin and I prefer to have that enthusiasm when I’m writing.

Leave a Reply

