The Blurb on Other People’s Words – More Fear

December 27, 2012 at 11:51 pm (horror, Reviews, writing) (, , , , , , , )

I missed my Monday review because of the holidays, so here it is a few days late…

FEAR: A Modern Anthology Of Horror And Terror (Volume 2)

With this charity anthology, Crooked Cat offers a second great selection of fear-inspiring stories – all proceeds going to a couple of very good causes. While every story had entertainment value, I found a greater range of quality in this volume than in the first. Some of the stories were exceptional, but others had clear language issues that might be distracting to the more discerning reader and there were more grammatical, punctuation and wording issues missed during copy editing in this volume. I would still recommend it if you enjoy a good horror anthology, and I would single out these stories in particular:

The Sad Story of the Death of a King (Jane Wright) – One of those stories so well written its invisible – by that I mean you no longer recognize that you’re reading and just become one with the story. Great characterization and excellent imagery that dragged me back to my old days Trick-or-Treating.

It Sticks with You (Kim Krodel) – Brilliant storytelling and very much fear inspiring. I consider a story particularly special if it gives me goose-bumps – this one gave me a serious case of goose-bumps.

The Lost Souls (Laura Huntley) – This story was very moving and actually made me cry, although it was more disturbing than frightening. The tale was well told. The author manages to generate sympathy for even those who were doing something heinous and I really connected with the main character despite the limited format of a short story.

Scarecrow (Liam Hogan) – An excellent example of a story purely based on fear. It’s a simple premise but very well executed. It gave me a satisfying conclusion for the protagonist but still leaves you wondering what became of the poor farmer.

The Living Eucharist (A. Taylor Douglas) –Wow! I really enjoyed this one. The characters were lifelike, the events of the tale just strange enough to be interesting, without being overdone, and the narrative flowed smoothly. The ending was particularly chilling.

The Honeymoon’s Over (E.E. King) – A clever little story with just the right amount of detail and an interesting twist.

I’m sure there will be more to come from Crooked Cat and these talented writers. I give this one four out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

