Genre for the Holidays – Last Minute Business

December 24, 2012 at 3:17 am (horror, writing) (, , , , , )

Just tying up the last few loose ends before Christmas. Dinner items have been purchased, gifts wrapped, stockings readied and cards were sent out long ago, although I realize three went to old addresses and I need to resend them because folks have moved since last Christmas (they’ll get their cards late – so sorry). Next I have to go through my face paints and get them organized for the party tomorrow – my daughter will be making balloon animals. The party lasts 3 hours and involves more than 100 kids – ugh! I won’t want to see another child again for a week, other than my own. We have two other parties to go to after that, first visiting friends and then my husband’s family. It’s going to be pretty busy.

I’ve also been typing in that horror Christmas story I mentioned, Deck the Halls. Here’s the promised excerpt:

The house was lonelier than Ward thought it would be, even though he didn’t really miss his mother. Now that it was the week before Christmas and Ward had had one too many celebratory rum and eggnogs, heavy on the rum, he had decided it was time to decorate.

“I don’t need anyone to bring me any lame-ass ole’ presents,” he slurred as he pulled out the storage bins, talking to nobody in particular. “I can buy plenty of my own damn presents, thanks to that insurance money. All I need to do now is sell this crappy house – probably in the spring. Then I can go anywhere and do anything I want to.”

He stumbled along with boxes in hand, headed for the hallway where he had already set up the artificial tree. He had bought that himself, a few days after his mother had died. She had always insisted on a real tree, so he had gotten it just to snub her memory – proof that she could no longer order him around.

Ward staggered around carelessly, dropping more than one ornament as he attempted to hang them on the tree. He cut his finger on one of them, but just laughed at the pain, shovelling all of the broken bits into a garbage bag along with a few of the undamaged but tacky ones his mother had adored, but he had always hated. They were mostly ones with a religious motif.

“I don’t have to look at that shit anymore, and I don’t have to listen to your nagging ever again either. I get to ‘deck the halls’ anyway I choose.” Ward sang those three words like the Christmas carol. “I get to hang my hockey team ornaments wherever I want, not just in my room, and I get to put up my naked girly garland that I got at the novelty store. This is my home now – and my decorations. So fa-la-la-la-la-la-la-la-la.”

Ward belched and threw a couple of her favourite gaudy antique ornaments against the wall, with a loud “crash!” He laughed uproariously as they smashed to smithereens.

“That one’s for you, Ma.”

There will be one of my full flash fiction pieces featured on the Guild of Dreams site tomorrow. I’ll be reblogging to Word Blurb, since I won’t have time to do anything more. See you then!

Leave a Reply

