Genre for the Holidays – A Little Bit of Mystery

December 23, 2012 at 2:51 am (Reviews) (, , , , , , , , , , , )

Today I’m going to talk about a genre of a different nature. I’m not a big mystery fan, normally. I don’t see myself writing mystery (although I did put together a little fantasy murder mystery party called “Who Killed Dodger Nabbit?”) I am, however, very much inclined to the modernized versions of Sherlock Holmes (I enjoyed Mr. Downey Jr. as Holmes on the big screen, although I prefer him as Iron Man). I was fortunate enough today to get to see Episode 1 of Season 2 of the latest British Sherlock TV series which was a holiday episode encompassing Christmas celebrations and New Year’s Day. It also was a risqué episode involving a dominatrix known as “The Woman” who managed to actually capture Sherlock’s interest. The series is brilliant, and this episode is captivating. While other versions of Sherlock Holmes are entertaining, the acting in this is impeccable, the plots are interesting and there is amazing depth to the characterization (I adore both Holmes and Watson in this version.)

Comparing the latest American version, Elementary, is a little unfair. The British version wins hands down, in my opinion, but Elementary is still worth watching. I wasn’t planning on following it – I figured with a female Watson (Lucy Liu,) and Hollywoodization, it would be kitschy, but it sucked me in despite my intentions to avoid it. So far, I’ve found it quite interesting, and there’s good chemistry between Watson and Holmes, although it fades in the shadow of the chemistry between Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman. I also can’t help but look at them with fan-girl awe, when you consider Freeman played Arthur Dent and Bilbo Baggins and Benedict Cumberbatch joined Freeman in The Hobbit (in the later segments of the story) and is playing the big baddie in the next Star Trek movie.

And I miss another American Sherlock series that I didn’t recognize for what it was until it was ending. Of course, there was a slight attempt to disguise it. Rather than Holmes, the name used was House, his best friend Doctor Wilson instead of Doctor Watson, and the detective was a medical one, but Gregory shared many of the characteristics typical to Sherlock including drug abuse, an acerbic personality and the love of catching people in lies. I just didn’t clue in to all the similarities until the end.

Word has it that despite new fandom success for its co-stars, there will be more episodes of Sherlock. If you haven’t already seen it, I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

