Genre for the Holidays – Crazy Happy or Just Crazy?

December 20, 2012 at 2:29 am (Links, writing) (, , , , , , , , , )

This should be a very happy holiday season for me. I just finished the first draft for my twentieth novel (the one I started for NaNoWriMo) – that should make me happy, right? Well according to an article I once read it should also make me crazy. I wish I could locate that link but all of my searching has yet to yield the article in question (maybe I’m already nutty enough that I imagined the darned thing.) Anyway, it suggested that writing requires a fiction writer to alter their perspective and look at the world in a much different way than a non-writer. At about the twentieth novel point, it supposedly skews your reality permanently…

…or to put it bluntly, it makes you crazy.

Of course, I can’t say I honestly trust any articles on writing out there anymore. You can find “experts” who say almost anything imaginable about writing nowadays, and many of the articles are contradictory. According to some of them, my writing must be lousy, because I use an outline which means I’m not creative, because I write quickly which means I can’t write smart, and because I don’t write in a pre-selected writing space at a pre-defined time in complete silence without any distractions, which is the only proper way to write. So they say, if I believe all of the articles on writing out there.

Then again, if they are all true, that makes me already crazy – which means I shouldn’t care what any of them have to say.

Anyway, before I go stand in the corner talking to walls and laughing at my own jokes, I’m posting the last first draft chapter of The Trading of Skin to Scribd.com. As I’ve done with past NaNos, all twenty chapters will remain public for three weeks and after that only the first five chapters will remain public. Here’s the link: http://www.scribd.com/doc/117455251/The-Trading-of-Skin-Chapter-20

2 Comments

  1. Christina Westover said,

    Congratulations on finishing your twentieth novel!!! I am working on my third, and I often beam with pride over having done even this–but twenty–I have so much respect for your determination, perseverance and your passion for storytelling!

  2. chantellyb said,

    Thank you – now I need a serious break (the way I always do after NaNo).

Leave a Reply

