Genre for the Holidays – A Quiet Moment of Contemplation

December 15, 2012 at 3:11 am (Links) (, , , , , , , , , , , , )

Tragedy around the holidays is all the more terrible. Considering the tragedy the world saw today, few people are much in the mood to celebrate. I’ll use this moment to express my sympathy to those who lost loved ones today, anywhere in the world, for any reason. But – I won’t let anyone turn my blog into a venue for political debate, so anyone who comments in a political way on this post, will have their comment moderated into non-existence.

Today was also the day of my work “Snow Ball”, a beautiful gathering for those of all faiths. There was discussion of Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa and other festivals and traditions. I know some people who would complain about the lack of focus on Christmas but I personally appreciate an environment that embraces a variety of cultures in a receptive and inclusive ways. For those who disagree, see my statement about comment moderation above.

As part of the presentations, three blessings from three different faiths were read and one libation performed. The blessings were nice, but the Kwanzaa libation moved me the most. The woman performing the libation spoke of things I truly value: family and friends, learning and wisdom, and the joy that comes from sharing with others. It was spiritual in a very warm, down-to-earth way. It really made me contemplate the things and people I care about.

And here is my offering for the day, Chapter 19 of my NaNoWriMo project, The Trading of Skin, posted here: http://www.scribd.com/doc/116891141/The-Trading-of-Skin-Chapter-19

Leave a Reply

