Adventures in NaNo-land – The End

December 1, 2012 at 3:33 am (fantasy, Links, writing) (, , , , , , )

Okay…so it’s not. I’ve written ¾ of my book, approaching 70,000 words. I have finished NaNoWriMo, which comes to an end today, but the book still has 5 chapters to go. I’m into the home stretch though, the story building to that pivotal point where all of the action cumulates and the decisions made by the four main characters determine the outcome of the tale. I’ve known how this was going to end since I started. That’s just the way I write. I start with an ending in mind, plot out a handful of major plot points that will lead to that ending, and then fill out the spaces inbetween with more detail. I’ve tried other ways but this is the one that works best for me. It makes sure my stories are cohesive and end with a bang.

That doesn’t necessarily mean things are clear cut or rigid. I believe in staying flexible. If I decide, along the way, something different will work better, I’ll change things. So far, the small adjustments I’ve made to the plot won’t be changing the ending I have in mind for The Trading of Skin.

And I will continue to post the last five chapters to Scribd.com, as I finish them – leaving the entire first draft up for three weeks after the last chapter is done. So if you’re interested in reading it, that’s where you’ll find it. I just posted Chapter 15 there, and it’s available at this link:

http://www.scribd.com/doc/115080164/The-Trading-of-Skin-Chapter-15

No more Adventures in NaNo-land until next November. Tomorrow I start my 31-day holiday spin…”Genre for the Holidays”. I’ll be exploring different and interesting things that combine genre elements with holiday themes. Hope you’ll follow along J

Leave a Reply

