Adventures in NaNo-land – Closing in on the End

November 28, 2012 at 1:41 am (fantasy, writing) (, , , , , , , , )

There are only three days of NaNoWriMo left, but I expect to be finishing up Chapter 14 tonight and validating my NaNo win. I’ve still actually got a fair bit to go on the book, 6 more chapters, but I’m hoping to be done Chapter 15 by the end of day 30 and maybe to be past the 70,000 word mark as well. That would put me at the ¾ point of the story and revving up for the conclusion of my novel.

I’ve already started escalating the action in preparation for the climax of the tale, and intensifying character relationships as well. I aim to bring everything to a head after two fairly high-paced clashes between the protagonists and those who oppose them, but the culmination of the tale is not a fierce battle with monsters but more of a different kind of a challenge that demands a very real sacrifice (everyone who knows me well knows that none of my characters are safe in my stories.) I hope it will be both gripping and moving, a scene I envisioned in vivid detail from the very beginning, but I’ll have to put it to the test when the time comes.

Unlike what seems to be the majority of writers, I always start writing with a specific ending in mind and I write to that ending. I’ve never been able to write a successful story in “discovery” mode, ambling blindly towards some unseen, unknown goal. I know it’s what works for some writers but I have to know where I’m going. I actually get very excited at the prospect of reaching that climactic scene stored away in my head (in some instances, for years).

Anyway, while I have made good progress today, the chapter’s not quite finished. I expect it to be up on Scribd.com tomorrow. I’ll post the usual link once it’s up and maybe give you a glimpse at my NaNoWriMo winner’s badge.

Until then J

Leave a Reply

