Adventures in NaNo-land – Facing the Blahs

November 27, 2012 at 2:16 am (fantasy, writing) (, , , , , , )

This is going to be a short post because I’m tackling my usual mid-book blahs, although I’m actually about two-thirds through the book. Maybe it’s the NaNo momentum that carried me a little farther than when the blahs normally strike. Maybe it’s the fact that I made it past the 50,000 word mark (I’m at about 60,000 now) so I’m not feeling that same push. Maybe it’s because my beta reader/muse is not in the best of health, and can’t keep up with me or provide me with her usual feedback (get well soon, Barb).

Whatever the reason, I’m at that point where I usually feel like my effort is being wasted and I just want to drop the book and waste time on something else. It happens every time, and I push through it, but it’s never a fun feeling. Combined with a heavier than normal day-job workload, a wariness of upcoming holidays that will probably be more stressful this year because money is tight and a million changes to deal with at work and home, it has me in a bit of a funk. I don’t usually get tired, and right now I’m pretty tired.

The chapter I’m working on does end with a fairly exciting action scene, so that might help me find my second wind. If not, I’ll just keep muddling my way through it. I only have about 30,000 words left to go and plenty of time to write it. If it comes down to it, I’ll just slow down and finish at a leisurely pace. I have a couple of short stories I need to work on in December, but other than that, I don’t have any writing commitments in the works …not until the final edits come in for my short story collection or what will be my seventh published novel, Prisoners of Fate.

I may or may not have Chapter 14 done by tomorrow. If not, it should be posted on Scribd.com the following day. When it’s done, I’m going to validate my NaNo win for my third year running (yay!)

More tomorrow J

2 Comments

  1. Christina Westover said,

    You’re an inspiration to so many–love your passion for art!

Leave a Reply

