Adventures in NaNo-land – A Matter of Timing

November 24, 2012 at 1:29 am (fantasy, Links, writing) (, , , , , , , )

I live a very busy and chaotic life. In addition to having two children, one with special needs, I work full-time at what is right now a very hectic day job. But since picking up writing again three and a half years ago, after my CMA-MBA program ended, I’ve gone out of my way to make time to get at least a little writing in most days.

It takes organization to keep everything straight. I’m constantly juggling things, prioritizing, delegating, deciding what things won’t be worth the time it would take to do them. To keep this up requires a certain level of energy, and enough experience to know when to slow things down a little to catch my breath, and when to speed things up to meet the demands of a particular pacing. You can’t constantly burn the candle at both ends or you’ll burn out, and you can’t relax for too long or things won’t get done when they need to be. I don’t always get it right, but I’m getting better at it. It’s a matter of balance and timing.

As I mentioned in my post yesterday, pacing is an important element of any story, and just like with life, it helps to figure out when to ramp things up and when to take a breather. I try to write the way I like things to read, for the most part escalating towards the climax of the tale in stages, with breathers in-between.

I don’t always agree with the experts. Nowadays, writers are encouraged to open with a bang, a big action scene to draw them in. To be honest with you, as a reader, I don’t like that. I want a proper introduction so I can be well invested in a character when they are thrust into an action scene. I make a point of pacing my stories this way, and if this makes me a bad writer, so be it. Hopefully those with similar pacing preferences will enjoy my books.

Chapter 12 in The Trading of Skin is one of those breather chapters after a rather dramatic Chapter 11. It gives my characters a chance to regroup and share a little, reflecting on what has happened and what is to come. You can find it posted to Scribd.com here: http://www.scribd.com/doc/114240659/The-Trading-of-Skin-Chapter-12

More tomorrow J

Leave a Reply

