Adventures in NaNo-land – Measured Madness

November 20, 2012 at 1:09 am (fantasy, Links, writing) (, , , , , , )

I have to admit, by this point in November my brain is starting to turn to goo from all of this writing (on top of the tail-end of the busiest time of year at my day job.) This year there was added chaos, with an early November office move and my crazy notion that I needed a daily blog post, even during NaNo.

Does any of this come as a surprise? Not to those who know me. If there’s a normal way of doing something, I rarely use it. I have to come up with my own insane way, and I have this obsession with patterns which pops up again and again in my life. For example, I structure my novels with this in mind. I have a preferred number of chapters per book, a preferred number of scenes per chapter and a preferred number of words per scene – I find consistency blissful. “That’s kind of nutty” you might say, but it’s what appeals to me, so it’s what I do.

I’ve read multiple debates on what people think is appropriate chapter size, and you’ll come across a wide variety of opinions. Shorter…longer…somewhere in between…whatever size fits that particular chapter, even if it means chapter size is all over the place. Some people would think my chapter sizes are too long, others might judge them to be too short and more than a few would cringe at my adherence to consistency. There isn’t a tried and true rule. There’s no magic formula. What works for one writer will be an abysmal flop for another. It’s a matter of figuring out what best matches your style and your way of thinking and using that to your advantage.

And with that in mind, I’ve posted another of my consistently-sized chapters to Scribd.com. You can find it here:

http://www.scribd.com/doc/113832613/The-Trading-of-Skin-Chapter-10

More tomorrow J

2 Comments

  1. Christina Westover said,

    LOL…I love that you’re methodical–it’s such a contrast to an erratic mind like mine, and implies tremendous strength! You’re almost there–and yes, you’re exhausted because you’re the only NaNo person writing a blog everyday and posting chapters, and this is why I admire you: )

    • chantellyb said,

      I always get kind of burnt out by the end of November and try to use December and January to recuperate. I hope I can manage that this year – things are still soooo busy at work.

Leave a Reply

