My Favourite Monsters A-Z – Zombie

October 31, 2012 at 11:34 pm (horror, Links, writing) (, , , , , )

Conveniently, I come to the end of the alphabet, the end of the month, and the end of my posts with what I consider the ultimate monster – the zombie. The zombie is versatile, prevalent, disturbing and – at times – humorous. It can generate sympathy and disgust, sadness and terror. It can cling to its humanity or cast it aside, depending on the nature of its story. It exists as an example of the most current common fear and a strong form of political commentary.

I love zombies. I have had one novelette and seven zombie short stories published. I’ve written three more unpublished zombie shorts and a full zombie novel. I’ve researched and published essays on zombie comedy and the origins and forms of zombies. You can find my blog postings on zombies at:

https://chantellyb.wordpress.com/2011/10/08/chantelly%e2%80%99s-field-guide-to-zombies/

https://chantellyb.wordpress.com/2011/10/15/chantelly%e2%80%99s-field-guide-to-zombies-environmentals/

https://chantellyb.wordpress.com/2011/10/22/chantelly%e2%80%99s-field-guide-to-zombies-biologicals/

https://chantellyb.wordpress.com/2011/10/29/chantelly%e2%80%99s-field-guide-to-zombies-magical/

And I’ll close with an excerpt from “Palliative” that goes with this sketch:

“Greg’s instincts proved correct, and he found her in one of the open ward rooms, much to his great horror. She had already made short work of two of the four residents there, vulnerable, dying and unable to fight back. They were badly mauled, their flesh shredded and bloody, ripped from their sedated forms by her gnarled and crooked teeth. Thelma was coated in their gore and was perched over her third anticipated victim, frothy pink drool lining her lips and pooling at the corners of her mouth. She leaned in towards the sleeping woman, keening quietly as she prepared for the bite.”

I hope that leaves you with a case of the shivers – have a Happy Halloween!

3 Comments

  1. Christina Westover said,

    I love zombies also, but I always wonder if they eat flesh, wouldn’t they have to poop? Wouldn’t the meat make them lumpy and stuff if it just stayed inside, LOL. The Walking Dead is the coolest series EVER filmed!

  2. cherylmoore said,

    Zombies are probably the BEST!!

  3. Karen Abner said,

    I just read Chantal Boudreau and I have to say its the first time I have ever read a zombie book with that kind of a spin to it and I loved it! Just thought u may want to know that. Thanks for the story and I would defiantly buy a book if I saw ur name on it. Wait! What was ur name? Because I had to look that up u know. Thanks again I enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

