The Blurb on Other People’s Words – Fear

October 29, 2012 at 9:56 pm (dark fantasy, horror, Reviews, writing) (, , , , , )

Fear: A Modern Anthology of Horror and Terror –Volume I (Crooked Cat Publications)

I’m accustomed to the average anthology running from 14 to 20 short stories, unless they are flash fiction tales, so I was pleased that this anthology offered a double dose of scary goodness. While not all the stories matched my typical horror tastes, I still found each and every one of them entertaining in some way. With such a broad assortment of horror, thrillers and dark fantasy gathered in one book, It would take me several separate reviews to touch on every one. Instead, I’m going to focus on a few that struck me in particular and mention why they stood out for me.

“Dead Ding Donger” (Wayne Via) and “Old Mabel’s Stray Cat” (Cameron Trost)both had a hefty dose of dark humour to them, something I look for and especially enjoy in horror anthologies. While Dead Ding Donger was a little predictable, it was still very funny, and “Old Mabel’s Stray Cat” caught me by surprise with its twist ending and Mabel’s somewhat demented way of seeing things.

I liked “Breaker One Nine” (Connor Rice) for the originality of its setting and its peculiar (but frightening) monster. You could say this one was a chiller *grin*.

While not inspiring much in the way of fear in me, I absolutely loved Lyn McConchie’s “The Book”. It had more of a dark fantasy mixed with science fiction feel to it, with an epic spin, and it was a very moving story. I was so caught up in it, I almost missed my bus stop.

E.E. King’s “Synthesia” was cleverly woven, scary mixed in an odd way with whimsical and vivid imagery.

“A Cloud Over the Sun” by A.A. Garrison was priceless thanks to its fabulously jarring format – it made the story into something extraordinary.

“Seamless” (Shirley Golden) was solid science-fiction horror with an extremely disturbing ending.

There were many other very good stories, but these were the ones that appealed to my tastes the most. Be it zombies and gore you seek or suspenseful tales with a lovecraftian flavour, this book has it all. If you are looking for excellent Halloween fare, or just a good scare, I’d suggest this anthology as a worthwhile read – and the proceeds go to two great causes.

Leave a Reply

