The Blurb on Other People’s Words – Ren Garcia Returns

October 15, 2012 at 10:26 pm (fantasy, Reviews, writing) (, , , , , , , )

Sands of the Solar Empire – by Ren Garcia

I don’t think Ren Garcia will ever write anything I don’t like. I’m a big fan. But I felt like he was toying with me a little with this book. The reader is provided with a great space fantasy adventure, with plenty of dead-ends for our heroes and seemingly impossible situations (at first). It is a fun, quirky, fast-paced tale with his typical larger-than-life heroic characters. And then…

Before I continue, I’ll have to tell you, I have a very linear brain. I like stories, unless they involve time-travel, to follow a definitive path. Any criticism I have about the non-linear qualities of this story are no commentary on the quality of this book – it is a wonderful read – but rather on my peculiar preferences. I still loved this book, but it drove me crazy reading it.

The story jumps back to events preceding the front-end action, following Belmont (or Bel as his friends call him), our hero, right back to the time prior to his birth. His adventures are thrilling. He’s a very sexy character with womanizing ways and a highly unusual family. Description of his household, his sisters, his encounters with demons and the ladies he interacts with are colourful and vividly detailed. The plot is just as intricate as his earlier novels and his world-building just as sublime.

As much as I liked this “reminiscing”, the opening storyline niggled at the back of my brain, a constant distraction while I followed the rest of the book. I wanted to know what happened to the folks he had left in the lurch, to the point where I was practically chewing my nails down to the nubs out of the frustration of having to wait.

It was worth the wait, but in the end I was left with enough loose ends that now I’m going to have to deal with more waiting for the next book. Nevertheless, I’d definitely recommend picking up this book, another addition to a fantastic series.

Leave a Reply

