My To-Do Bucket Is too Full

August 4, 2012 at 1:18 am (Fervor, Links, writing) (, , , , , , )

I’m kind of surprised I’m writing a blog post because this is the time of year that I’m so busy my brain turns to goo and I stumble around bleary-eyed with a dazed look on my face. One might even mistake me for a zombie. In my mundane life, over-time hours and summertime family demands stretch me a little farther than I normally have to go. I have a garden to tend to and kids who want to go to the lake or to the beach. We also just adopted a new pet, and I’m adapting to adding him, a beagle named Sparky, into my regular schedule

And that’s just the ordinary stuff.

I hate turning down opportunities associated with my writing, and lately they just seem to be multiplying. Aside from working (very slowly) on my latest Fervor novel, Providence, several short story projects and my blog (which includes book reviews), I now have obligations from joining a fantasy writer’s collective, commitments to narrate for a podcast, illustrations I ought to be working on for Transcendence and a variety of promotional efforts. I don’t think I’ve ever been this tired in my life.

There is a light at the end of the tunnel – with vacation time coming up in a week. I will have several home maintenance projects to deal with, and probably a few family day trips, but otherwise my time will be freed up to clean up loose ends and get some rest.

I suppose I could say “no” more often, but “yes” had brought me quite a bit of satisfaction, including an anthology acceptance I was really hoping for (they had more than 200 submissions,) and the opportunity to narrate for one of Star Ship Sofa’s affiliates, something that thrills me to bits. I even got to discuss the promotion of this year’s Wicked Women’s Writers podcast competition with one of my podcast idols, the FDO himself, Scott Sigler.

Speaking of which, I’m going to take this opportunity to plug that competition myself. The chance to listen to the wonderful tales written and narrated by some very talented wicked women is almost upon us. The competition goes live at horroraddicts.net on August 11 – be sure to drop in, listen and vote.

Anyway – I’ll cut this short and go back to wallowing in my fog. See you in a week, when I’ll likely be even more like a zombie, and my bucket will be overflowing.

Leave a Reply

