The Blurb on Other People’s Words – Slices of Flesh

July 2, 2012 at 10:40 pm (horror, Reviews, writing) (, , , , , )

Slices of Flesh – Edited by Stan Swanson

You should see my ragtag copy of this anthology of horror flash-fiction. Why is it in such poor shape? -Because I’ve been dragging this book everywhere with me. One of the wonderful things about this book, aside from the fact that all stories were donated and all proceeds are going to literacy charities and funds to help support writers in need of assistance, was that it could be read in snippets, an entire story read in full when I had a couple of minutes to spare. I read the first couple of stories while donating blood, a few while waiting for a bus or on the bus, some curled up in bed, waiting on my daughter at the pool or sitting outside in the backyard with my son while he played on the swings.

“Slices of Flesh” was a veritable all-you-can-eat buffet of terror, an opportunity to sample the work of many extraordinary genre writers, some veterans and many writers newer to publication. If any of the stories didn’t quite match your tastes, the next selection likely would, and I can honestly say that I really enjoyed most of the pieces – the exceptions being a couple that were a little surreal for my liking, but those tales might be your cup of tea.

Picking my favourites from the 90 stories is a real challenge, but there were a few that struck a real chord with me. “Cur” by Shelly Towne was one I enjoyed so much I read it over three times because I thought it was so clever (and disturbing.) Kaaron Warren’s “Blame the Neighbours” caught me off guard and gave me goose-bumps. I got a big kick out of Lon Prater’s “Fresh Air” and I liked the unusual format along with the turning point of the story. And I thought Eric J. Guignard’s “The Prisoner of Andersonville” was creative and delightfully shocking. To do justice to the other stories, there were many more I loved and deserve mention, but I don’t want this review to span pages. The best I can do is recommend that you get your hands on this terrific anthology and read them all for yourself. I don’t believe you’ll be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

