A Word Blurb Interview – Joel M. Andre

June 22, 2012 at 10:31 pm (writing)

Today I have a special guest who has willingly submitted to my 10 Simple Questions interview – Joel M. Andre. Not wanting to steal too much of his limelight, let us proceed to the drilling…

1) Who are you?

I am a poet who dabbles in dark humor and horror. For a long time, I was putting out poetry in various publications and then I moved on to short stories and novellas. I’ve been very blessed to have the chance to do what I do.

2) What have you written?

I’ve produced about 22 titles since 2008. In the age of e-books, you are required to keep churning out quality work to keep your readers interested. There was a time when it was uncommon for an author to put out more than one work in a single year. In fact, that is one of the reasons why Richard Bachman was born.

My most popular titles are, A Death at the North Pole, Brutal, Perfection, Kill 4 Me and The Pentacle of Light Series.

3) Why do you write?

I write for the enjoyment of it. It gives me a sense of release and while I could drabble on with the endless list of clichés that fill this type of question, I will stop and avoid boring the reader.

4) Do you have a preferred genre?

While a lot of my work is categorized as horror, I prefer to use a lot of dark humor in my stories. This can be seen in the open of, A Death at the North Pole and in the tea scene in, The Black Chronicles: Cry of the Fallen.

5) Are you a pantser or a plotter?

To a degree, I would say I am a pantser. I like to have the freedom to grow and evolve on some of the ideas that I have. Although, in the last year I think I have been crossing over into the plotter territory.

6) What do you like most about writing?

The freedom to create something out of nothing and to lose yourself in it. I love having the chance to get lost in a world and to live among the characters that I am writing. You grow attached to them and at times, you forget you are writing and are just there for part of the journey.

7) What challenges you the most about writing?

I think finding a balance between my day job of writing articles at www.needanarticle.comand making time for my own fiction has become tricky. I’ve had to juggle it some, but I am still able to get both done. As an added benefit, I have had the chance to become dear friends with an amazing editor there, Nancy Langston who is always more than happy to double check my content.

8) Who or what inspires you most?

I think the people I interact with on a daily basis are becoming more influential in what I do. I’ve surrounded myself with some people who are a little off the beaten path. They have the most marvelous stories to tell and I always look forward to listening to the things that fill their days.

9) What are your plans for the future?

In the pipeline, I have a sequel to Kill 4 Me, additional installments in the Pentacle of Light Series and eventually, Black Hill Manor will come out. The latter keeps evolving and I want it to be just perfect.

10) Do you have any suggestions for other writers?

Read all you can and learn about all the different genres. With that, continue to build your vocabulary, but refrain from delivering a vocabulary lesson. A lot of new writers are focusing on using as many $10 words as they can to show they have the brains to write. The average reader doesn’t want an intensive vocabulary lesson. Focus on the story and if you can slip the occasional word in to get the reader thinking, go for it. But don’t get to the point where the reader is looking up every other word. Allan Leverone is a great example of an author who has the perfect balance of both.

Thanks for the insight on what makes you tick as a writer! Find out even more about Joel at: http://joelmandre.info/

Leave a Reply

