The Blurb on Other People’s Words – Chivalry is Dead

May 21, 2012 at 9:25 pm (horror, Reviews, writing) (, , , , )

Chivalry is Dead – Edited by TW Brown

One would expect a zombie anthology with a male focus might have significantly more action, violence and gore, and less emotional content than its all female equivalent, but it turns out this is not the case. Many of these tales are just as touching and heart-felt as the stories in its all female companion anthology “Hell Hath no Fury”. The opening story, “Daddy’s Little Girl” is a prime example of this, its plot centred on a father-daughter relationship in the face of a zombie apocalypse.

Not all of the stories were that multi-dimensional. Some were exactly what you would be anticipating, even smacking of chauvinism in some places (but that isn’t necessarily a reflection of the author or his opinions; I’ve included moments like that in my own stories, for the sake of realism – I’ve run into instances in my own life, so I can guarantee you they exist.)

For the most part, the tales were entertaining, some very dramatic, some humorous, some downright scary – a good assortment in my opinion. My favourites included the piece by Mathew Munson, “The Life and Times of a Zombie”. The dark humour really appealed to me – perhaps because we are both civil servants we have similar senses of humour – and the perspective was…different. I also really enjoyed Chad Rohrbacher’s tale, “Camp Victory” – I was fortunate enough to get a sneak peek at the tale when I was asked to write the intro. It shows the extremes some parents will go to for the sake of their children and I liked the backwoods feel to it. But the story I loved the most was “Saving Mirabel” by Jerry Enni. It sucked me in and I was thoroughly rooting for Charlie by the end, sympathizing with his plight.

While there were a couple of stories that weren’t quite my thing, on the whole I felt this was another excellent anthology from May December Publications and I would definitely recommend it to lovers of the zombie-genre.

Leave a Reply

