Word Blurb has a Guest – Armand Rosamilia

March 30, 2012 at 11:19 pm (writing)

I’m happy to have the opportunity to share the ‘Blurb’ space with a fellow zombie aficionado, and one who was heavily involved in Undead Tales, the zombie anthology that featured my zombie western, “What a Man’s Gotta Do”. He was also the man behind the recently released, “Zombie Writing” a non-fiction collection that included my essay on Zomedy. Let’s dig deep and see what other ghoulish tricks Armand has up his sleeve. I hit him with a dose of my 10 simple questions…

1) Who are you?

Why, I’m Armand Rosamilia, an author into horror, zombies, heavy metal and steampunk. It depends on what day it is to find the right order. I’m also a publisher (Rymfire Books) and quite pleasing on the eyes (if I do say so myself). (I have to agree – I like my men bald and beefy – C.B.)

2)What have you written?

I currently have over 40 releases with my name on them, from zombies (my “Dying Days” series), horror (“Death Metal”), heavy metal (my “Metal Queens Monthly” series) and steampunk (nothing published yet, but soon, very soon!)… I’m also featured in over a dozen horror anthologies, and have quite a few more coming out in 2012.

3) Why do you write?

Because I have to. I just got back from a cruise to the Bahamas and at least once an hour I was itching to write something, even if it was a character idea after meeting someone, or wanting to turn Nassau into a zombie-filled island of death. My mind is constantly ‘writing’ and I can’t get enough from sitting down at the computer and letting it flow.


4) Do you have a preferred genre?

Horror, and in the last two years, mostly zombies. I keep trying to add more non-zombie releases, but readers are really digging my “Dying Days” series and keep asking for more, so I keep writing them. I enjoy them, so it’s easy to do.

5) Are you a pantser or a plotter?

The question sounds vaguely dirty, but I’ll refrain (awwww – C.B.). I’m a by-the-seat-of-my-pants writer, no big outlines or weeks working a story in my head. I free-form write scenes sometimes and then either toss them aside for later or start moving the beginning and the end of that scene into a story.

6) What do you like most about writing?

The hours. I can crawl out of bed at six or noon and, as long as the coffee is brewing, jump right in. On days when I’m on fire I can look up and realize I missed lunch and nearly missed dinner. After eating as fast as I can, I jump right back into the office and go until my eyes begin to cross.

7) What challenges you the most about writing?

Distractions. Non-writers sometimes don’t get that when you’re in the zone they need to leave you alone and find the butter in the fridge themselves, or just make anything they want for dinner. Life gets in the way sometimes, and suddenly it smells like dog crap because you were busy writing about zombies and the dog couldn’t hold it anymore. (hmmm – I have to wonder if this actually happened – C. B)

8) Who or what inspires you most?

Kim has been with me for five years, and this is the best patch of writing and getting published I’ve ever been in. When she’s not here I stumble a bit, sometimes not writing if she’s gone for a weekend trip. When she’s here, even if she’s in the living room on facebook, in my mind she’s close and I can write. She’s like my good-luck charm. Even though she wants to kill me sometimes for forgetting to help around the house or take the dog out. (Sounds like my Barb… and there’s that dog again – C. B.)

9) What are your plans for the future?

To keep writing and publishing. I’ll extend the “Dying Days” series as long as there is interest, and I have several projects always open on the computer to work. The next few months I hope to keep putting out as many short stories, novellas and novels as I can.

10) Do you have any suggestions for other writers?

Keep writing and don’t stop. Have several ideas open and ready to go, and finish what you start, unless you know that it’s crap. You might go back to it or use an idea later on, so never delete anything. And the most important suggestion: make sure the dog gets outside and doesn’t crap in your office (now I’m sure this has been a recurring incident – C.B.)

To see more of Armand’s work, check out:

http://www.amazon.com/Armand-Rosamilia/e/B004S48J6G/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_2?qid=1333149105&sr=8-2

Leave a Reply

