Guest Post – Victoria Watson

March 9, 2012 at 11:11 pm (fantasy, Links, writing) (, , , , , )

Swamped as I am (I missed my review on Monday), I’m going to hand over Word Blurb this week to guest blogger, Victoria Watson. Take it away, Vic!

This week it has been announced that JK Rowling is going to write a new novel for adults! The woman who is known worldwide for the Harry Potter series is now branching out into the world of adult fiction and the media have had a field day. Why, though? Let’s face it, Harry may have been written with children in mind but it crossed all boundaries. Adults thought nothing of reading Harry Potter on their morning commute on the train. Bloomsbury Publishing even reissued the books with adult covers but the covers hadn’t put anyone off.

Why are the media getting so excited about the emergence of an adult book from Rowling? Because they like writers to be pigeon-holed. JK Rowling has been known as a “children’s writer” but now that she is writing an adult book, the media won’t know how to define her.

As a writer, one of the first questions people ask you is “What do you write?” I find that one difficult as I write all sorts of things. I’ve tried my hand at chick lit, Brit grit and all sorts of s**t. My collection ‘Letting Go’ is available on Amazon now. I decided to put together a collection because I had eight short stories waiting to be read. The only thing these stories had in common was that they all have a twist in the tale.

‘Letting Go’ hasn’t been published in the conventional sense. It’s only available as an e-book at the moment, I don’t have an agent nor do I have a publisher. “How is this so?” I hear you ask. I self-published my collection. Some people think this isn’t a very good idea. The opinion that only losers or failures self publish is fairly common but the e-book and e-reader revolution means that self-publishing is actually seen as a great way to establish yourself as a writer. It’s acknowledged in the publishing world as a great way to build a fan base and increase recognition of you and your work. If you then approach an agent with impressive sales figures, you are proving yourself to be a valuable asset. If you can demonstrate an ability to make money, an agent will want a cut of that!

I self-published my short stories because it gives me independence over my work. I don’t write in one particular genre at the moment and going through a traditional agent and publisher route often means you have to be “classified” in one genre or another. I haven’t quite found one genre I want to write in – maybe I never will – but at the moment, self-publishing allows me more freedom to experiment with genres, voices and topics. I see this as an opportunity to hone my craft, gather reviews, feedback and hopefully one or two people who enjoy my work. What I also like about self-publishing is the control I have over the end product.

Being defined by a genre helps a writer because it makes a pitch easier when writing to an agent and then when the agent pitches to a publisher. However, why should a talented writer be pigeon-holed? Why not take every idea that appears and run with it?

I think JK Rowling’s foray into adult fiction may blaze a trail for the rest of us.

If you’re in the UK, you can download ‘Letting Go’ at: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Letting-Go-ebook/dp/B007A6VAVA/ref=pd_rhf_gw_p_img_2

In the states, ‘Letting Go’ is available at: http://www.amazon.com/Letting-Go-ebook/dp/B007A6VAVA/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1330867198&sr=8-1

You can also read more of my work at: http://elementaryvwatson.wordpress.com

You can catch me at goodreads.com and twitter @vpeanuts

2 Comments

  1. Jeyna Grace said,

    True, when you are defined as a genre, things are easier. But i have a feeling Rowling will go down a different path.

  2. Featured Artist Victoria Watson - Sojourners Indecisive said,

Leave a Reply

