Word Blurb Has a Guest – Margarita Felices

January 28, 2012 at 12:04 am (writing)

I’m delighted to introduce to you today fellow storyteller (and leo), Margarita Felices, and just in time to go along with my vampire theme for Monday’s Blurb. Margarita and I discovered we have other things in common, since I have family ties to Wales and a “well-known TV broadcasting company”. I asked her 10 simple questions, and thankfully, Margarita proved to be sufficiently loquacious.

 

1) Who are you?

I live in Cardiff with my partner and three little mad dogs and I work for a well-known TV broadcasting company. I love living in Cardiff because, for all its modernisation, there are still remnants of an old Victorian city. I love writing and base my stories in Cardiff because it has such character. When I can, I go out to the coast and take photographs. Mind you, we have a lovely castle in the city centre and a fairytale one just on the outskirts, so when I feel I can’t write anything, I take a ramble to those locations and it clears my head.

I suppose it was inevitable that someday I would write a novel. My teachers at school used to limit me to no more than ten pages.  When I left school, I wrote short stories for magazines, and it paid my way through college. I am Gothic – I love the fashion, the architecture and the music. The club in my novel is real. When I was writing book one, I got all my club material and clientele from here, I wouldn’t have finished that section without it.

 2) What have you written?

My first full length novel is called Judgement of Souls: The Kiss at Dawn. It’s the last story in a trilogy. I am currently writing story two, the prequel, and after that will be the very first book in the series. I’ve written short stories for magazines, one about a fake psychic, one about a woman who after an accident is given blood and then starts to see grisly murders in her dreams. And I have a TV script, it’s a romantic story that needs a re-write; it both needs to be much longer and to be made into a novel. It’s on my to-do list.

3) Why do you write?

I have stories that I hope will entertain everyone. I can make up stories about anything, they swirl around in my head and I can’t get them typed quick enough. They just land in my lap and I look to the heavens and say ‘thank you very much’.

4) Do you have a preferred genre?

Anything supernatural (except Zombies {Chantal says: boo L Maybe reading a couple of my zombie stories might change her mind.}) I love Vampires, but that’s not to say that I wouldn’t write about something else. I don’t think I’m suited to say, romantic styles of stories. Although I did write a screenplay that was a romantic story a long time back.

5) Are you a pantser or a plotter?

Definitely a plotter. I have to make notes on each page about what will come next. I don’t always stick to it but at least I know where the story should be at that point.

6) What do you like most about writing?

The adventure. You get to share the lives of the people you create. You go to strange countries, you meet dashing men and you get to make friends with them.

7) What challenges you the most about writing?

The research I do. If I’m going to write about an area of Rome for example, I need to know what is in that area. So, to avoid going to the expense of actually getting on a plane and jetting off, I read a lot of reference books and spend a lot of time on the internet. I want it to sound authentic. In my current novel, my character Max breaks into the Vatican Library so I needed to know how far away the section he needed was from where he broke in and what he would pass. I read up a lot for that.

8) Who or what inspires you most?

Other writers who have been in the same place that I am now. I’m new to all of this; all their advice is valuable because you’ll never find your way in this business without them and their help.

9) What are your plans for the future?

Once I’ve finished the trilogy I’m hoping to write short stories about my main two characters. They will be occult treasure hunters or archaeologists and will work for the organisation that features greatly in the trilogy.

10) Do you have any suggestions for other writers?

Don’t give up. If you have a story that is dying to be told, then work hard to tell it. But make sure you are doing your best work and you get an editor that can help you make the most of your manuscript.

Don’t give up even though you may get rejection letters. If everyone thought like that there’d be no books, no films. Keep writing, even if its dribble! Then read, re-read and edit. Try and write a little each day. One hundred words a day is seven hundred a week, twenty-eight hundred a month and one hundred words a day is so simple!

And carry a Dictaphone or a notebook and pen! 

4 Comments

  1. FutureMrsIzz said,

    I recently read and very much enjoyed Judgement of Souls: The Kiss at Dawn, well done Ms Felices on your first novel!

    I very much look forward to the prequels!

    • Margarita Felices said,

      Thank you so much for leaving a comment. I really do appreciate all the feedback I get and I do take notice if there’s anything which wasn’t quite to some people’s liking. Without feedback, new authors just wouldn’t know if we’d got it right or not. Thank you, a prequel is being written as we speak!

  2. Jackie Clarke said,

    I read Judgement of Souls, totally different to the type of thing I normally read. I have to say I was pleasently surprised and look forward to the next book from Margarita.

  3. Margarita Felices said,

    Thanks both. I really do appreciate all the feedback I get and I do take notice if there’s anything which wasn’t quite to some people’s liking. Without feedback, new authors just wouldn’t know if we’d got it right or not. Thank you both. xx

Leave a Reply

