Word Blurb Has a Guest

January 14, 2012 at 12:00 am (writing)

Today I’m happy to bring you one of my very prolific writer friends, fellow Canuck, Suzanne Robb. She offered to share a few words of wisdom, reaching into the swirling vortex of chaos to pull out a few profound thoughts, interspersed with a scattering of simple observations. It’s funny how in many ways her thought processes mimic my own.

With no structure I Ramble, you are Forewarned –

Suzanne Robb 

When I was first given this opportunity to write for Chantal’s blog, I really had no idea what topic to choose.

Promote myself? Talk about writing? Talk about promoting my writing?

Decisions, decisions. So I picked all three, sort of.

If I were to be totally honest I hate promoting myself and most likely do a miserable job of it. On Facebook people post all the five star reviews they get. I post the good and the bad. Then again I think that is the way to do it. If you only post the good, and someone buys it and hates it, well, I feel bad.

In the end this most likely causes me sales, but I would rather someone remember hey she posted the bad stuff too, that was pretty cool!

I would much rather spend my time promoting others, doing interviews for people on my blog, and trying to get their name out there. I know this again is something that works against me, but when I tried promoting myself I felt dirty, like a used car salesman.

When it comes to writing people seem to think writers have everything organized and allot the same time every day to their work and reach a designated word count. As if somehow we control the things around us so real-life does not kick in. I assure you this is not the case.

I have no magic ability to stop the weather from getting bad, or traffic jams to occur, family members from getting sick, or job stuff getting overwhelming. If I did I would have an info-mercial and be a millionaire.

I for one, do not read, or write every day. To some people this means I am not a writer. In reality, I just have too many things going on. I know the immediate response to that is to MAKE TIME. I say to them, if it were that easy don’t you think I would? However, I do need more than four hours of sleep and that is what I average as it is most nights.

There are just times when life, family, work, and anything else gets in the way. I think what really matters is the people who write when they can, read when possible, and ignore those who tell them they are not a real writer because they do not follow some unwritten rule book.

Which brings me to promoting my writing. I am not sure what category I would fall into. I have a novel out titled Z-Boat, it is more of a mystery suspense with zombies at the end. I also have a short novella collection out titled Were-wolves, Apocalypses, and Genetic Mutation, Oh My! This one has three short stories ranging from sci-fi to horror/parody.

I have stories in a load of anthologies I will not list. (see how bad I am at the self-promotion thing?)

I love to write comedy, with a horror twist, but do hope to just do comedy one day. If I were to be totally honest I would love to write creative non-fiction, but that is a tough market to crack. For now I will continue to do what I am doing as long as there are a few people who want to read my stuff.

Everyone has their reason for why they write, mine would be to make people laugh. If I can do something to bring a smile to someone’s face, then my words did their job. While I do that I will also write the random mystery suspense, or zombie story, or were-wolf story, because in the end writers have to get the stories rattling around in their head on paper.

Twitter – @srobb76

Blog – http://suzannerobb.blogspot.com/

Z-Boat – http://www.amazon.com/Z-Boat-Suzanne-Robb/dp/1467945749/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1326410202&sr=8-1

Were-wolves, Apocalypses, and Genetic Mutation, Oh My! – http://www.amazon.com/Were-wolves-Apocalypses-Genetic-Mutation-ebook/dp/B006SBC2UQ/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpt_1

 

 

1 Comment

  1. Dale Roberts said,

    Like it; very similar circumstances as Chantal; cool blog.

Leave a Reply

