NaNoWriMo Hiatus Guest Interview – Gwyneth Roberts, Artist

November 11, 2011 at 11:49 pm (writing) (, , , , , , )

Meet my next guest, Gwyneth Seren Roberts (here she is displaying a painting she did when she was just 4.) While only 10, she already dabbles in drawing, painting, sculpting, costume design and comic book creation. She wore a Halloween costume of her own creation, a pumpkin headed Pokemon she named Hexoween.

 Q – When did you first start doing artwork?

A – I started when I was really but the artwork I do now began when I got a book called Zombiekins. I had seen made-up Pokemon (fan versions) and I really love them. So, I decided to try and make one of my own, but I had no inspirations. I looked around and the only thing that really struck me was my Zombiekins book. I based my first Pokemon drawing on the Zombiekins

Q – How about your sculptures? How did you start with those?

A – I was tired of drawing. I had a full notebook of sketches, so I asked to go to the craft store where we bought clay (plasticine). I formed the Zombiekins-based Pokemon which I had named Vagerdol. I experimented with others from my notebook that I had not yet named, and it turned out that sculpting was another of my talents, so I started it as a new hobby.

Q – I’ve seen your comic books. What have you worked on so far?

A – At the moment I’m working on my sequel to Digitales, a comic book about a girl who gets sucked up into a video game, three for every comic book. In the sequel I include Kirby, Link and Pikmin.

Q – What about in the first one?

A – I had three of the better known games: Mario Bros., Sonic and, one of my personal favourites, Pokemon.

Q – Do you have any plans for the future?

A – Since I mostly based my stories and creations on Nintendo, I would like to someday see my creations in their products, like one of my made-up Pokemon in one of their Pokemon games.

 Thank you so much for your time, and I can’t wait to see your next project.

Leave a Reply

