The Blurb on Other People’s Words – The Devil’s Music

September 27, 2011 at 12:20 am (Reviews, writing)

I’m running behind schedule, so my review is going to be a short one this week. I have another ready, but it’s the first in the Reprisal series, and I want to wait and offer up three from that series together. I also just finished Wonder, the third book in Robert J. Sawyer’s WWW trilogy and I’m going to give the book some digestion time before I write my reviews for all three books – there was a lot to absorb and process. I also thought this digital short deserved the spotlight on its own because it’s a rather spectacular piece of fiction and is worthy of exclusive attention.

Raised in Hell (The Devil’s Music) by Julia Madeleine

Nothing says atmosphere like being able to hear a character’s accent in your head as you read, without it being implied in the narrative. This was exactly how this digital short read for me. You could hear the soulful music, smell the cigarette smoke (I don’t smoke – cough! cough!) and see the dim flickering lights. The tale follows the devilishly seductive Sadie through her sensually rich experiences as she searches for a musician to claim in her own special way. As she says, she’s there to arrange “a mutual transaction with mutual benefits.” I really enjoyed the strong visuals and colourful characters, and the ending doesn’t leave you hanging. I’m looking forward to the next digital short in this series.

Leave a Reply

