The Blurb on Other People’s Words – Hell + Some of My News

August 8, 2011 at 8:59 pm (horror, Links, Reviews, writing)

I’m once again reviewing an anthology that contains one of my stories in it. Of course I think my story is great – I wrote it, and I’m biased, which is why my focus is on all of the other stories. I feel this is a great collection and I think it deserves a fair shake. I never dock an anthology points if I’m not thrilled with every single story in it – I think diversity is important. A good editor makes sure an anthology spans a spectrum of styles and themes (within whatever genre or topic being presented), which means that there will be some that a particular reader will love, and others that don’t quite match their tastes. What I look at is the quality of writing overall, and in this anthology, the writing quality is strikingly good. I love the fact that the female point-of-view does add differences to these tales that you wouldn’t find in a typical zombie anthology.

There’s a distinctly feminine touch to the majority of the stories, and I believe it makes this book an extra-special read. It also means those looking for a macho testosterone-filled anthology with lots of cussing, hack-’em-up action and gore ’til it’s coming out of your ears may not find what they are looking for in Hell. It’s a zombie anthology with heart – literally. Read Rebecca Snow’s fabulous story, Pieces (one of my favourites in the anthology) and you’ll see what I mean.

I have to admit, some of the stories grossed me out in a way that the standard zombie story could not, but I found most had at least some of the things I really value in a zombie story. There was great dark humour in a couple of the tales, like Tips by Dina Leacock, that had me chuckling from end to end, and D.A Chaney’s Cranial Rewire that had several very funny moments. There were some stories with unusual elements and interesting twists, like Rebecca Lloyd’s the Petitioners (another of my favourites.) If you are a fan of romance you can find that too, and not just the “boy saves girl and ingratiates himself to the girl in the process” you might expect in the average undead tale.

I read an interesting article this week that talked about how the current zombie-loving trend will run itself dry because the stories are all the same: zombie apocalypse, the world as we know it is over, those who survive are on the run and fight or hole themselves up to get by. If that’s what you like, you’ll find some of that in Hell too – but you’ll also find a “Hell” of a lot more. This gets five stars from me.

In addition to my review, I’m including some news of my own this Monday. I had an amazing time participating in a zombie walk on Sunday through downtown Halifax. It was a family affair, even though my eldest refused to go, and there was a great sense of fun and camaraderie to the walk.

Also, my entry to Fangoria’s Weird Words contest, “Little Sister” has been selected as an official contender. I urge you to go read it at: http://www.fangoria.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=5270:weird-words-little-sister&catid=101:weird-words&Itemid=252

If you enjoy it, please leave a comment on or like the page where the story is posted. I would very much appreciate the support.

Leave a Reply

