The Blurb on Other People’s Words – Matched

June 27, 2011 at 11:47 pm (writing)

I was silly enough to take on a double dose of romantic content recently, with my own WIP (an urban fantasy romance, the first draft just completed) and a YA dystopian romance that was suggested reading by a friend. Considering I overindulged and surpassed my relatively low saturation point for romance, I’ll try not to be too harsh.


Matched – by Ally Condie

Whenever I pick up a genre that’s popular reading, I’m always hoping to find that creative surprise – that twist that makes it more worth reading than the multitude of others. I wish I could say I found that in Matched, but I didn’t. Ms. Condie is an excellent writer with regards to style, emotion and characterization. Her dystopian tale was an easy, pleasant read, and it held my attention reasonably well but it was predictable from start to finish. The love triangle was the typical one found in the majority of YA novels presently: the feisty yet beloved and beautiful heroine, in this case, Cassia, torn between the doting and dependable good friend, the safe choice, here Xander, and the dangerous yet exciting bad boy, who ignites her passions, here Ky. I’ve seen this same triangle play out in many other YA books, and rarely (and much to my disappointment) have I seen others stray from the now standard presentation and resolution. That part of the tale bored me. The dystopian society had elements of interest for me – the strange colour-coded capsules that the general populace carry, the matching process for the citizens in the Society, and a few of the more mysterious aspects surrounding the Aberrations and the Anomalies. Those things did tweak my curiosity and made the story worth reading, but for the most part the dystopia was quite similar to the dystopian societies in the classics, where the government does unethical things for the sake of controlling its people, and limits their freedoms in the name of the “common good”.

This was for the most part an enjoyable read, but not all that deep. I would give it a four out of five stars, for the want of something a little more original.

Leave a Reply

